hi
greetings visitor. have you seen the phantom of the opera?

The Phantom of the Opera is my new favoritest movie. I shall forego the gushing that inevitably follows from a conversation with another fan and skip right to the impressions and deep insights I derived from the film.

Fandom seems to predominantly favor the Erik/Christine route. I am rather with Katie and quite glad Christine ended up with Raoul in the end. I haven’t seen the play, but from what I think I remember of what I’ve heard, the movie seems to be slightly different in the relationship between Raoul and Christine. Maybe I’m wrong…I forget.

I found it interesting, though, how Raoul didn’t save her. He merely provided a reason and showed her the way to move on from the Phantom and to what happiness awaited her. She thought she was happy with the Phantom, but she wasn’t. It saddens me in a way that Raoul didn’t save her…but it makes sense too. In order to be truly free of the Phantom, she had to leave him willingly. And with that last scene where she and Raoul are leaving…everyone seems to think she’s looking back as though she almost wishes she weren’t leaving. I think that could be a part of it…but only because this is all she’s known for so many years, and to drastically turn her back on the man who taught her to sing and toward whom she has an attachment–however reluctant or not–would be hard.

On Friday night we went cosmic bowling to celebrate Brit and Katie’s birthdays. I will very pointedly admit that it was the first time I’ve ever bowled in my entire life…that and the fact that my athleticism is minimal if not non-existent. 🙂 The first round I got a 42 (thus winning if we were playing golf or some game that the one with the fewest points wins). We didn’t finish the second round, but I didn’t lose–I finished with 69 points and a strike to my name :D. Getting the strike made my night lol. *glows*

Apart from being in love with the Phantom of the Opera…I also adore the Relient K song “High of 75”. In some ways I could almost have written the song myself.

And on and off the clouds have fought for control over the sky
And lately the weather has been so bi-polar, and consequently so have I

Now it’s sunny with a high of 75
Since you took my heavy heart and made it light
And it’s funny how you find you enjoy your life
When you’re happy to be alive

Leave a Reply

