please make my life make sense

Evergreen branches swayed gently in the hesitant breeze that trickled down the valley. Lingering snow on the northern slopes reminded the observant of winter’s persistent hand. As the sun nears it’s 3:45 resting place, shadows lengthen and light wanes. A chill flows down from the peaks in an effort to warn the residents of the temperature’s impending drop.

Footsteps approach. They slow, and eventually the crunching gravel beneath well-worn cross trainers is silent. A two mile walk to cast dispersions on cluttered thoughts has ended with a realization of everything forgotten over the past 40 minutes. Downtrodden and laden with the burdens of life’s pressures, she turns up the driveway.

A cloudy silver laptop boots at it’s moderate pace, and she extends a network cable that will connect her to the world wide web. Positioning two pillows just right and situating the cords accordingly, the dizzied soul reclines comfortably upon her unmade bed.

One or two hours of mindless internet activity couldn’t hurt.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Forgive the morbidity, but I shall try to live through this week. If you’re lucky, you’ll see me in 5 or 6 days…possibly 7. If we’re not, I shall die under the stress of…stress *insert unlady-like snort* and you’ll never see me again. And you shall mourn the tragedy that while Finding Neverland is a worthy film, the layout I left you with was drastically less than stellar, at best.

Now again I found myself
So far down
Away from the sun that shines
Into the darkest place
I’m so far down
Away from the sun that shines
To light the way for me
To find my way
Back into the arms that care
About the ones like me
I’m so far down
Away from the sun again

3 Doors Down, “Away from the Sun” 

Leave a Reply

