nothing like a good book

Reasons why I should not enter a bookstore:

  1. I will find books I want
  2. I will buy books I want
  3. I will then go online and realize I could have purchased said books for substantially less money than I paid 😛

*sigh* I’m such a web consumer. Although I prefer not to buy clothes etc online, because they usually don’t fit right or whatever. But books, movies, music…I’m at half.com and amazon, checking who has the cheapest nice edition of whatever I want.

In case you haven’t guessed I visited a bookstore today. Came back with 5 books (3 of which are for me). I think I am going to fail miserably at trying to wait to read any of them until I finish the other two I am in the middle of. For those dying to know what my library of currently-started books are the two I’m reading are followed by the three I bought:

  • Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell (great writer so far, and excellent speaker)
  • The Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  • The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy (yeah, I have read this, but didn’t have a copy)
  • Light on Snow by Anita Shreve

So this makes it ever more urgent that I accomplish my mind-mushing reading assignments for class quickly lol. Who wants to read about ASP.NET when they can be reading a good book? Computer Science nerds, yes. So maybe I’m borderline CS nerd (without the nerd part of course 😉 lol), but hey, there’s a reason I’m still an English major 🙂

2 thoughts on “nothing like a good book

  1. That’s like me and craft stores. I’m trying to get back into reading. Right now I’m reading Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. Life changing, let me tell you. ebay and half.com are miracle workers, seriously. love them.

    regarding online shopping. I like browsing clothes online and then going to the store and buying them. Although I don’t have as much hesitation with shirts as I do pants. Shirts have a greater probability of fitting. I hate shopping for pants.

Leave a Reply

