but not as much as you, you see

As one somewhat obsessed with the documentation of life, I have discovered my ultimate wish as far as technology goes.

I want a fireproof cabinet that is aesthetically pleasing so I can put it in a living room, and accessible enough so that my kids will be able to easily open it and remove the contents.  So any engineers or brilliant people capable of this…please let me know 🙂  I would buy something like that before a lot of other furniture.

Archiving photos this summer and talking about various aspects of it has made me aware of the fallibility of technology as relates to the archiving of media.  I am obviously keeping my digital photos etc (there are thousands), but I still print and stick my favorites in albums.   Also, I am currently on my 13th or 14th journal…I have all of the previous volumes.  The idea of losing my journals and pictures is just about the most terrifying thing I can imagine right now.  While I don’t fancy opening my journals to the general public, pictures are a way of sharing my life.  So I want to be able to share them while keeping them protected (and not having to have duplicate copies…although I suppose the digital form could count as that).

So there you have it.  I love looking through my grandparents’ photo albums, and I want my grandkids to be able to look through mine.  Technology, please ensure that this is possible.

One thought on “but not as much as you, you see

  1. That would be an amazing invention. We should get on that.
    I spent a couple of summers ago archiving (digitally) all my family’s photos between the late 1800’s up till about the 1930’s somewhere in there. Its a great way to share stuff. My only concern now is that digital photos have a shorter life span than film and what our albums will look like in 100 years if that’s the case.

Leave a Reply

