but you have come to Mount Zion

Words fail to express the joy that wells within me when the Holy Spirit comes down and renews my soul.

Of late I have not only been lax in reading my Bible, I have been downright negligent.  Finally, this afternoon, just now actually, I opened up to the next chapter in Hebrews, 12.

Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

I think I just sat back and smiled when I read that.  I have been wrestling with my obstinancy in not giving up things I should in order to pursue God as I should, and here the author of Hebrews puts it so simply.  Lay it aside.  That’s all I have to do.  Christ endured the cross for my sake.  Who am I to selfishly say I deserve to do anything (much less waste the time I have been given).

Not that I’m advocating times of stagnation, but God seems to speak so loudly when I finally do come back around.  And may His name be praised.

One thought on “but you have come to Mount Zion

  1. I love how sometimes all you have to do is stop and take some time and something really profound is shown to you.
    To be honest, I’ve been pretty lax too. School has almost completely overrun every aspect of my life, but really I guess that’s no excuse either.

Leave a Reply

