learning

Just do it.

While this is the motto (or promotional slogan) of Nike, it also serves as the obvious revelation I realized last night. I was at Hosanna, and in the time of silence and reflection, I contemplated the things that build up and stress me out. And, combined with Heather’s wise musings of late, I concluded that these things that I put off (even tiny things like emails) just need to be done.  I feel so much better when I accomplish the minutae of life.  Why put off the satisfaction?

Corroloarily (wow…so not a word), there are things in my life that I wish were more consistent (exercise, journaling…the list goes on).  I can do those things; I simply choose not to and spend inordinate hours doing..well heaven only knows what, because somehow the time slips away.  There is so much more I can do with my time than squander it away with things like Freecell and Facebook.

Although it seems (maybe not to you, if I don’t always post about it) that I have these epiphanies quite regularly, and it’s frustrating that it’s always the same thing, I think I do make progress.  It’s small, but it’s there.  I just have to keep looking for the reminders because I am so prone to slack off and let these things that would edify my fall by the wayside.

On a separate note…I am in the midst of a group project and I would rather individually pluck each hair out by the root than work on this assignment.  While I eagerly anticipate the end of school in general…I am literally counting down the hours until this class is done.  I honestly don’t care much about the grade, but I just can’t bring myself to leave the crap other people write!  I’m not a perfectionist, largely (see the paper I did not proofread and got a B- on…I’m taking the class pass/no credit).  But still!  This has my name on it, and I don’t want the professor to wonder if we even had half a brain to think through what is being written.  *argh*

Leave a Reply

