But a breath

You have Caley to thank for finally prompting me to cross “blog” off my to-do list.   I suppose I just had to make up for the earlier prolificity.  Well, now that’s done, so onward and upward!

In one month I will have relocated all my belongings three hours west.

Steinbeck, who had an (inexplicable, in my mind) preference for the east wrote (in East of Eden, or the preface to it): “I always found in myself a dread of west and a love of east.”  Much as I do love Steinbeck, I cannot agree.  The mountains are west.  The sea is west.  The sun sets in the west, heralding the re-appearance of stars burned up to say goodbye.

“We know that God is everywhere; but certainly we feel His presence most when His works are on the grandest scale spread before us; and it is in the unclouded night-sky, where His worlds wheel their silent course, that we read clearest His infinitude, His omnipotence, His omnipresence.” (Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre)

Shadows long before me lie,
beneath the ever-bending sky,
but islands lie behind the Sun
that I shall raise ere all is done;
lands there are to west of West,
where night is quiet and sleep is rest.

(“Bilbo’s Last Song”, JRR Tolkien)

If ever I find myself living between the Rockies and Appalacians, I imagine I will have to travel around the world to go far enough so it will be west.
Vancouver is west. 🙂

Leave a Reply

