Observations

 

 
1)
Oh – so this is why Seattle is addicted to coffee. Between the warmth, coziness, and caffeine, it’s an all-in-one solution to the tired gloominess of a perpetually overcast sky. Why the love affair is limited to Starbucks, I have yet to discover, however (I am decidedly not a fan of their coffee). Indeed, apart from a Seattle’s Best (which is, if I’m not mistaken, owned by Starbucks?), I would be hard pressed to point out a cafe or independent coffee shop. Granted, I’m still new to town, but still! Starbucks on opposite corners of the Belleuve Transit Center? Two within the same shopping complex and not more than 50 yards away? Let’s shoot for more originality and less cardboard-cutout ambiance.

omar_MK

2)
Earlier this week I came across an amazing package for a couple days in Iceland. Lodging and round-trip airfare for under $700 – yeah it’s the week (US) Thanksgiving so it’ll be cold and maybe not very sunshine-y – but still! I almost went, but a reality check from my dad along the lines of, “So Iceland is more important than the new computer you want?” ………….Yeah maybe not. The beast is going on five years next month and my 30 GB hard drive was too small years ago. So while I have been setting money aside for the new beauty (whatever it’s going to be), I think it’s time to speed up that process so I can spontaneously take a trip to Greenland or Sri Lanka or the Andes – wherever the next cheap flight is to. 🙂

3)
While no sociologist or psychologist, I wonder if the majority of personality shaping is done before the average person reaches adulthood. While I am firmly in the personal responsibility/don’t-blame-it-on-your-parents-who-drank camp, it seems inevitable that some personality traits/idiosyncracies would be passively acquired in childhood. Certain other tendencies would be more willfully sought out in adolescence.

Since, let’s face it – habits die hard, perhaps then the rest of our lives are spent getting to know ourselves. Rediscovering those little quirks we picked up along the way – maybe even forgetting where. The corrollary to self-discovery is deciding what to do with this new information. By virtue of recent experiences and likely just the phase of life I’m in right now…there are a lot of things I’m figuring out about myself. Some things I’m okay with, others I’m working on changing – which is not always a fun process. But in the end (and even now), I guess I’d rather the ability to recognize weaknesses and have the desire to, by the grace of God, adjust them.

On a related note…speaking not only of the people I know, but also myself…

In each of my friends there is something that only some other friend can fully bring out. By myself I am not large enough to call the whole man into activity; I want other lights than my own to show all his facets.

(CS Lewis, The Four Loves)
 

One thought on “Observations

  1. Seattlites are NOT all about Starbucks! Check out Caffe Ladro… I’m trying to think of some other places in Bellevue, but well, that’s not really my stomping ground.

Leave a Reply

