Nanowrimo Day 20

If I’m blogging about writing a novel in a month, you can probably safely say I am procrastinating writing said novel.
At this point in the process, I am some 2/3 of the way there. Woohoo. Note the lack of exclamation point.

You see, I hit my stride somewhere in the middle of last week, when things were coming together. Of course I don’t really remember what I wrote then or when – but that’s irrelevant anyway. The problem now is that I know. I know what, barring a sudden tornado out of Seattle, is going to happen. I know where the story is going and where it ends (…generally and hypothetically speaking at least).

This is problematic for several reasons.

  1. I have lost interest in writing it. My brain has gotten into this rut where it seems to interpret my knowing the story as being as good as my writing the story. Unfortunately my brain does not come with a transcript, so the story is solved but not written.
  2. I know that the beginning and middle do not lead up to the end adequately. It’s like everything that I’ve written to this point was just pre-writing getting me to where I could come to the conclusion that x was the point. And then I’m supposed to write the story.

But who am I kidding – this whole thing is pre-writing. I go through phases of opinion on whether or not I’ll attempt a re-write to make this piece of work actually readable. All I have to do is finish. Which, in light of what I have accomplished so far (almost 34,000 words), doesn’t seem so daunting (at least 16,000). Except that it is because I don’t want to write those words. And I’ve managed to make the end quite difficult to reach by having this deeply ingrained fear of not hitting the 50k mark which has caused the pace of the story to be quite slow indeed. Barely four days have passed in the initial 34k words, and I need to cover at least a week by the end.

Maybe it’s time to  forego chronology and write the end. Then I will go back and fill in the middle as necessary. And if it comes to it, there will be a drastic style or plot change and the end will appear like the Witch of the West (actually I don’t know which direction Glinda came from – oops). Or not now that I think of it, since she arrived slowly in a bubble. I’m imagining more the magicians poof of smoke.

Okay, enough procrastinating. Let’s get this train to its destination.

One thought on “Nanowrimo Day 20

  1. “And I’ve managed to make the end quite difficult to reach by having this deeply ingrained fear of not hitting the 50k mark which has caused the pace of the story to be quite slow indeed.”

    THIS! I’m 30000+ behind and there’s 6 days left. 😥

Leave a Reply

