Haiti

This morning the sermon at church was largely comprised of a presentation from Pastor Mark Driscoll’s recent trip to Haiti.

I don’t feel like I can even approach coherence in describing how it affected me, but I’m going to give it a shot, because maybe it’s something that you need to hear too. And maybe putting words to the emotion will validate it and enable me to act upon it in whatever way the Holy Spirit sees fit.

Between the natural and man-made disasters of earthquakes, hurricanes, tsunamis, wars, government coups, and extreme poverty, sometimes I become desensitized. To a certain extent, I allow the wall to form between my heart and the tragedy as a protective mechanism. I want to do something tangible, and so often that is impossible. I am not trained in anything helpful when it comes to disaster recovery. And there is so much pain in the world that I am overwhelmed by it all and don’t know how I can offer aid to one area, neglecting the rest that so desperately also need help.

I am completely overwhelmed and undone at how much I have. How much I can do, but don’t. How much time I spend thinking about things that I want to do and things that I want.

The poverty level in Haiti is such that some people make it through a month on 1/3 of what I make in a week.

I want to pour myself out for the service of others in the name of Christ. I want to want that. To truly want it and be willing to sacrifice for the sake of Christ.

There is a time to mourn and a time to dance. Perhaps today I need to mourn. For the church that is broken and separated in Haiti. For those who have lost everything. For who I am and am not.

As stated – not coherent. But before I go, I just wanted to share with you an organization that has arisen with the express purpose of reaching out to help the church during times of disaster: Churches Helping Churches. And this is a video from the trip to Haiti last week.

2 thoughts on “Haiti

Leave a Reply

