Filling in the blanks on books

Fill in the Blank Friday! courtesy of Lauren

1.  My favorite book growing up was probably the Babysitter’s Club series. I was addicted.

2.  The funniest book I’ve ever read was Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Douglas Adams is one of my favorites ever (as evidenced by repeated references to him on this blog). It strikes me that I don’t read a whole lot of laugh-out-loud funny books…although I’m sure there have been others.

3.  The one book that has truly changed my life is probably Peace Like a River by Leif Enger – phenomenal story, story-telling, and craftsmanship. Later in life I might be able to say Infidel by Aayan Ali Hirsi – but at this point I haven’t effected much/any change in my life because of having read that book, although I hope to.

4.  If you’re looking for a real “tear jerker” you should probably read Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Patterson (first book that ever made me cry) or My Sister’s Keeper. The last Harry Potter book brought me to tears the first time I read it to – but you might need the all-in-one-sitting, day-it’s-released, last-book-ever feeling to really get tears out of it.

5.  If I could meet any author living or dead I would want to meet CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien. Dickens would be nice too.

6.  The next book on my “to read” list is undecided at this point. My to-read list long is seemingly inconquerable, but I think the next book I tackle will be Snow by Orhan Pamuk or Brick Lane by Monica Ali – two books I’ve owned for a while but never read.


7. If I was snowed into  remote cabin in the woods and could only choose three books to bring with me I’d bring a single edition (tome) of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. That comprehensive book of the 5 Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books and Augustine’s City of God. I haven’t read the latter, but it’s huge and apparently amazing, so there you have it. Maybe cheated a little bit – but technically there are only three bound books going with me – even if they comprise 9 stories altogether 😉

2 thoughts on “Filling in the blanks on books

  1. You should push The Eyre Affair – for sheer cleverness – and Saturday – for McEwan goodness – to the top. 🙂 I hated Love in the Time of Cholera (so maybe you should read it because that means you’ll like it lol), was super irritated by the end of Grapes of Wrath, and got really bored w/ The Devil in the White City and put it down because of the long stretches about architecture and city history. There. My 2 cents worth even though you didn’t ask for it. I should probably get one of those good reads thingies sometime. ❤

  2. Have to agree with you on Peace Like a River. Amazing book and all-time favorite. Got most of my friends here in Houston to read it this last year and it certainly proved a crowd-pleaser!

Leave a Reply

