Ready, set…

In less than 72 hours (I think around 68 to be precise), I will be in Panama.

I have little else to say. Last Saturday I moved a pick-up truck full of possessions back to my parents house. The last few days have been spent finding nooks and crannies for my piles of stuff (because really, stuff is what it is), seeing people, and picking up the last few odds and ends.

As far as preparation goes, I have been remarkably laissez-faire. Due to the fact that I’ll be living with an American family and back Stateside for a brief stint in less than a month, I’m not too worried about forgetting something. Today I went to the bank to cash a check and was reminded that I should probably call my credit/debit cards to notify them that I’ll be out of the country for a while. Don’t want that transaction in Panama City to get my account suspended.

It’s kind of nice – not worrying.

I am excited to step off the plane into an entirely different climate. To hear a foreign tongue in the crowds. To adopt an entirely new routine and way of life. To learn and grow.

I love and am relieved that the only “fear” in me is the fear of missing out on something here. It is a justifiable fear – anytime you leave something behind you abandon the possibility of being included in those memories. But life will not remain as I leave it on Friday. Friends are going off to other states (and countries). Life rarely stagnates, though I may hit a calm spot in the midst. But if it comes down to settling in a smooth patch while the rest swirl by, or swirling along myself…I’d choose the later.

And now wisdom from two favorites:

“My dear Sam. You cannot always be torn in two. You will have to be one and whole, for many years. You have so much to enjoy and to be and to do.” (Frodo, The Return of the King)

“”And now Harry, let us step out into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.” (Dumbledore, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince)

One thought on “Ready, set…

  1. Love it- I’m glad you’re not worrying and feeling ‘La-Zay-Fair’…I always wondered how you spelled that word. Thanks for the illumination above.

    I’m so excited for you!
    Hope it’s a crazy awesome adventure… remember to be SAFE though!
    I’m sure there will be unexpected challenges physically, emotionally, and spiritually… but challenges are almost always good things depending on your perspective.

    Love you, friend.
    bon voyage!

Leave a Reply

