30 June 2010

6:05 – alarm goes off
6:20 – get up and make self somewhat presentable
6:30 – 7:15 – put lunches together for the girls, have breakfast, get them up and ready for school, and head out the door (both parents were gone last night, so it was just Nora and me)
7:20 – I drive to school, let Nora out to run for a while and drive home by myself (it’s like a 5 minute drive)
7:30 – 9:30 – shower, check email, read, contemplate whether I should start some sort of writing project
9:30 – 11:30 – pick up Katrina, drive (me!! ohhh snap) to Casco Viejo (an older part of town – that is interestingly arrived at via an extremely poor section of town), maneuver through traffic and narrow streets like a pro, have breakfast with David, wander around

11:30 – 12:30 – pick up K, head out to the Causeway (a long spit of land that connects an island to the mainland)
12:30 – 2 – have lunch (I had a hamburger which tasted decidedly NOT like beef – nor did it look like beef. But it tasted okay, and I’m still alive), try some yuca frita, patacones, and ceviche (this variety included shrimp, octopus, scallops and possibly squid. And yes. I ate the octopus. Not my favorite texture, but it didn’t kill me), head back to the house and take pictures of the city and Bridge of the Americas on the way…

2-2:15 contemplate what to do while K naps, discover she found the nap in the car sufficient
2:30 – 4:30 – draw, play with blocks, watch K play with trains, let Nora pick up S from school, paint
4:30 – 5 – bath time!
5  – 6:30 – take into consideration that the nannies are tired and watch Wall-e, have homemade macaroni & cheese and green beans for dinner (courtesy of the amazing housekeeper)
6:30 – 7:15 – play Sorry and Freeze Dancing
7: 15 – 8 – get ready for bed, tell S a bedtime story and wait for her to fall asleep
8:10 – marvel and rejoice that it only took a half hour for S to get to sleep

Some other thoughts
– the pictures aren’t great, but it’s a start!
– McDonalds – ok, Dunkin’ Donuts – sure, but Baskin Robbins? Really?
– the stark distinction between the rich and poor is remarkable. Skyscrapers on one side of the highway and slums on the other.
– kids are exhausting. It feels like it’s been a really long week, but once I get used to it, I imagine the routine will make the time pass quickly.
– get me in a foreign country with people I don’t know very well who say I should try something – I’ll probably eat it. Even if it’s something I previously thought would never pass my lips.
– S & K get along quite well for the most part; I can only imagine my parents’ fatigue when the sister and I were younger as I remember fights to have been more frequent.
– I legitimately drove in Panama!
– There’s something about police officers patrolling with machine guns that is unnerving and does not instill tranquility.
– While the job security of having half your salary as severance in the event of a layoff must be nice, the customer service really does suffer for the employees’ lack of work ethic.

One thought on “30 June 2010

  1. I’ve been SO behind on Twitter so ACK! I didn’t even KNOW you were in Panama already!!! I fail.

    Great pics and oh my Zeus!, machine guns?! Oi vey. I hope everything stays calm during your stay down there. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

