an excursus

One month strikes me as reasonable.
As a reasonable length of time to pass before I get bored with primarily recounting how I pass the time.

Because, let’s face it.

  1. I only have so many story-worthy adventures.
  2. I am not going to make this a blog about the kids it is my job to watch.
  3. My life is only marginally that of a tourist.

In keeping with my fumbling inability to either to observe the fourth wall or stare it down (I’m more like a mime that stares straight at and through it but pretends it exists), I sometimes/often/occasionally feel the need to write to my audience. Who I perceive the audience to be has varied widely. Who it actually is, I can’t really say.

It comes down to a decision about the purpose of the blog. Which, perhaps, I should figure out. Is it a documentary? A travel blog? It obviously falls into none of the food/design/photo categories that many of my favorite blogs reside in. Maybe it’s a way to keep in touch with those who are far away. Maybe it’s the sieve for my thoughts.  Does it have to pick a box and  fit neatly inside?

By virtue and necessity of belonging to me, I don’t think it can be sorted so definitively.
For which I feel the unnecessary need to apologize.
Need because I want readers to enjoy my posts.
Unnecessary because my goal is not to attract followers – or anything really. I imagine I would blog if only for an audience of the humming servers at the Wayback Machine.

Maybe this is why I have such a hard time figuring out a direction for my life.
Maybe tomorrow I’ll decide to make this blog one of florist reviews.

Little is certain other than revision is always a possibility, and I will be en route back to Panama (for one month) on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

