Goal!

In the spirit of setting attainable goals for myself, not going stir crazy with anticipation for the next chapter of my life, and getting into some semblance of shape, I am going to learn how to run a mile in the next 3.5 weeks.

Realistically, it should not take that long. And technically I do know how to run a mile, I just fail epically when I try.

I drop the girls off at school every day around 7:30. There is a park right down the street with a mile long loop. So, my plan is to put my morning hours to good use and spend a little time walk/running the trail.

Monday it was raining, but Tuesday I got motivated and walked 1.5 miles and ran 0.5. Not a bad start. Today I inched a little past the quarter-mile marker and so maybe hit 0.6 miles of running and 1.4 miles walking.

I’m not setting daily distance goals, just inching a little farther day by day.

My legs are already sore this afternoon – but it’s that good kind of sore that makes you feel like you might be making some kind of progress.

Since this goal is going well so far (although I know it will be a challenge to continue to motivate myself in the mornings), I have decided I need another couple of goals to get me through the next few weeks. I’m not sure what they are going to be yet. Perhaps something involving photography or writing.

Here’s one. I’ll aim to keep you updated on the status of my goals. 😉

2 thoughts on “Goal!

  1. Yay! You can do it! You wanna know a really good motivator? Sign yourself up for a 5K (about 3.1 miles). At the beginning of the summer I signed up for a 1/2 marathon that’s in October, and just knowing that I *have* to run that has motivated me to push past the plateau that I have been at for a couple years now. I’m proud of you! ❤

Leave a Reply

