Nine companions

I go through these phases.

Obsessions. Fandoms. Call them what you will.

Although my Plus One fanaticism could be considered the most “life-changing” for the simple reason that it was my first, and it was through that door that I entered the wonderful worlds of fandom and even the internet.

But that’s nostalgia for another day. Today, let us focus on my second foray into fandom. Lord of the Rings.

All of the buzz circulating (in my circles at least) about the production of the Hobbit has kept fresh in my mind the love that had been lying somewhat dormant. And then today I saw this video commemorating the eleven (!!) years that have passed since the actors headed to New Zealand to being shooting.

I could attempt to describe what I love about Lord of the Rings and the movies and the fandom, but it would grow long-winded and you either already know the soul-clenching draw or I won’t be able to explain it. If I were still running this as a website instead of just a blog, I would probably put together some sort of commemorative layout.

8 out of the 34 layouts on my website featured Lord of the Rings. The only other non-nature/impersonal-graphic layouts were 1- Jars of Clay, 1- Pirates of the Caribbean, 1- mix of fandoms, 1- Alice in Wonderland, 1- Finding Neverland, and 1- Les Miserables. Shall we peruse the halls of my (graphically limited) LotR layouts?

December 13 - December 31, 2002

July 3 - August 8, 2003

August 20 - September 1, 2003

October 27 - November 28, 2003

December 21, 2003 - January 2, 2004

July 16 - August 1, 2004

November - December 2004

June 25 - September 2, 2005

Leave a Reply

