We’ll cross the seas

Sometime in the next 2-3 weeks I will be moving to Seattle.

I imagine I will (as always seems to happen) miss the oasis of home, but I’m excited to be back in the city.

Although most of my belongings remained packed away, the task of finding them and going through them and evaluating has been a bit daunting.

Additionally, it’s not as simple as throwing everything into boxes. I am a pack rat. Considering a) I am not sure how long I’ll be at this apartment and b) this isn’t a studio, I’ll have a roommate; my programming texbooks, among other things, won’t be making the journey over the mountains with me.

It is a recurring dilemma. I want to be able to up and move (as I seem to do anyway). I don’t want to be tied down by my possessions. But I enjoy scrapbooks and journaling and collecting candles. My favorite solution is to get married and have a house (aka home base) where I can situate all of our stuff. Of course a few key elements are missing from this plan (namely a husband and the funds to have a house).

So I should get back to re-boxing things. I’m taking a car-load of stuff over this weekend when I go see Mumford and Sons in concert. Organization is a handy trait to have when one has a lot of stuff, but it certainly makes this packing business take longer.

Leave a Reply

