Personality

If you’re anything like me, you may enjoy things like lists, quizzes and categories.

Despite the messiness of my room at any given point (I like to chalk it up to having too much stuff in too little space), I can be idiosyncratic in my organizational tendencies. Although I opted for a thematic and color scheme in arranging my books, my CDs and DVDs are in alphabetical order. My journals in chronological order. I happen to know exactly where resides my copy of the first taxes I filed in 2004.

Back in the early 2000s (weird) when online quizzes were all the rage, I loved finding out that my color and food preferences indicated that I would be Samwise Gamgee of the Fellowhip, or that my personality traits meant that my color was cyan. (Were any of you around when I had a page dedicated to quiz graphics, and another dedicated to fanlistings, and another for online awards. Ahhh the personal website community!)

Although I am more selective these days, and I don’t think the range is available (outside facebook apps), I do still love a good, revelatory quiz/survey.

So when I saw a link to an enneagram test (similar to the Meyers-Briggs personality tests, if you’ve ever tried those), I thought I’d give it a shot.

The first time I was a Type 6 (with 9 and 3 following closely); today when I retook it, I came out with Type 4 in the lead – followed by 6 and 9.

While I don’t think such things value as far as determiners of personality, the different perspective can be intriguing or enlightening in some cases. In my case, I think I closely resemble various aspects of the 4 and 6 types.

My favorite descriptor, that I’ve decided to adopt as very “me,” comes from the Type 6 description:

no matter what we say about Sixes, the opposite is often also as true. They are both strong and weak, fearful and courageous, trusting and distrusting, defenders and provokers, sweet and sour, aggressive and passive, bullies and weaklings, on the defensive and on the offensive, thinkers and doers, group people and soloists, believers and doubters, cooperative and obstructionistic, tender and mean, generous and petty—and on and on. It is the contradictory picture that is the characteristic “fingerprint” of Sixes, the fact that they are a bundle of opposites.

I think this explains neatly the fact that despite my frequent desire to blog…somehow it just never happens because I simultaneously don’t want to blog. 🙂

What type are you?

2 thoughts on “Personality

  1. online awards!! I was so there right with you! Oh, the silly days. I still remember all your LOTR themed layouts! And all my Switchfoot ones! Oh dear. Glad we’ve come so far. 😉

Leave a Reply

